Chapter 7 Bankruptcy in Florida
If your family is buried in unsecured debts such as credit cards, medical bills, and back taxes, filing for Chapter 7 can give you a fresh financial start by quickly and easily eliminating your debt. In fact, our clients can get out of debt almost immediately!
You can discharge your unsecured debts and wipe your slate clean. Although some of your possessions could be sold to pay back creditors, this rarely happens. Call or text DebtStoppers today at 786-420-4545 and let one of our skilled Florida bankruptcy lawyers help you get started today.
What Are the Requirements for Bankruptcy Chapter 7 in Florida?
There are rules for who can file for bankruptcy in Florida. Before your debts can be discharged, you will have to participate in mandatory credit counseling. You will also be required to complete a debtor education course. We will make all of the arrangements.
The Means Test
Bankruptcy laws also place income limits on who can qualify for Ch. 7. The "means test" determines if you have the financial means to repay your debts. It evaluates your household and disposable incomes, and if either is over the limit, you can't file under this chapter.
How Chapter 7 Works
To start the process, your attorney will file a petition at the district court nearest you. The court will then issue an automatic stay that requires your creditors to stop all collection activities, including those annoying phone calls.
Once you file the forms, a court-appointed trustee will schedule a 341 meeting and invite your creditors to oppose the discharge of your debts. While creditors rarely attend these meetings, your DebtStoppers lawyer will help you prepare and accompany you.
Once the 341 meeting is over, your trustee will review your assets. While the trustee is permitted to liquidate them, our clients rarely lose any of their belongings.
How Often Can You File Chapter 7 in Florida?
The waiting period between filings depends on which type of bankruptcy you previously filed and the type you want to file now. To file Chapter 7 in Florida, you need to wait eight years from when you last filed under Ch. 7 or six years from when you filed under Ch. 13.
What Does a Chapter 7 Cost? Do I Have To Pay Anything Upfront?
Every family is in a different financial situation, so the average cost of legal fees fluctuate. That said, DebtStoppers offers some of Florida's most competitive rates. In addition to legal fees, you will be assessed a $335 filing fee. The relief and protection provided by the automatic stay won't start until this fee is paid.
DebtStoppers $0-Up Front Chapter 7
For struggling families, we know that $335 can feel like $1 million. That's why DebtStoppers is one of the few bankruptcy law firms in the country that will advance the filing fee on your behalf. This means you don't have to wait to get the relief you need!
DebtStoppers can help you decide on the best choice for your family. Call or text us today at 786-420-4545 to request a zero-obligation personal debt evaluation with one of our experienced Florida lawyers.
DebtStoppers is proud to offer a real $0-up front filing. We'll even advance your filing fee, so you can get the assistance you need immediately. Don't wait another day to get out of debt: call or text us at 786-420-4545 now!